You are here

CU's latest Hall inductees very diverse group

This one is personal.

The six inductees into the 2015 Cameron University Athletics Hall of Fame are every bit as talented as their 45 predecessors.

The eighth class includes four outstanding athletes, one record-setting coach ñ  and an old friend who recorded many of their achievements with a vast array of cameras.

The athletes are:

Debi Covarrubias, who set records for two seasons as a pitcher for the Cameron softball team;

Mike Fleming, a four-year starter for the CU basketball team and the school's career rebound leader;

Jim Poole, a two-way starter for the 1961 Cameron Junior College football team that won the Junior Rose Bowl;

Kathy Smith, one of the leaders of two volleyball teams that won state AIAW championships.

The coach is John Spears, who directed Smith and Co. to records that still stand.

And the old friend is William T. (Bill) Dixon, who captured many of our area's favorite moments during a 40-year career as a photographer with the Lawton Constitution-Press. He was elected to the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame in 1991.

Dixon, who died in 2005, is the second journalist to join the CU Hall. He reconnects with this old reporter in that elite company. I had the pleasure of working with him for 26 years, and of trying to beat him on the golf course for several more.

Induction ceremonies will be held on Friday, Feb. 20, in the McCasland Ballroom of the McMahon Centennial Complex. The newcomers also will be recognized on Feb. 21 during the Lone Star Conference basketball doubleheader between Cameron and Angelo State.

The CU Athletics Hall of Fame was started by Athletic Director Jim Jackson in 2007 and the first class was inducted in 2008.

"This is a good, strong class," Jackson said.

The Lawton Constitution

102 SW 3rd, Lawton, OK 73501
Classifieds: (580) 357-9545
Circulation: (580) 353-6397
Switchboard: (580) 353-0620