You are here

Champions for Children named at Celebration, the Lawton Public Schools annual awards ceremony, were, from left, Barbara Snow, Hosie Hilliard, George Bradshaw, Jonathan Timms, Cristal Dorsey, Laura Hooper, Rick McElhaney, Penny Wilson, Debbie Hearn and Ashley Smith.Shown are, from left, Friend of Education David Tyler, Rookie of the Year nominee Tameka Williams, 2014 LPS Rookie of the Year Nicole Merriweather, and, representing The Lawton Constitution, which was awarded the Friend of Education Award, Mike Owensby, general manager.

Terrific teacher

LPS celebrates excellence in education

Lawton Public Schools held its annual Celebration event Tuesday night at Lawton High School, where the district honored the best of its own and members of the community who have made positive contributions to educating Lawton children.

The administration recognized several categories of honorees at the event: the 2014 Teacher of the Year, recipients of the 2014 Friends of Education award for community members and organizations that make significant contributions to LPS, the 2014 Champions for Children award for exceptional LPS employees, and the Rookie of the Year for an outstanding new teacher.

Tom Deighan, superintendent of LPS, said the theme of "celebration" has been woven throughout his first year as head of the district.

"Tonight is the night we honor the excellence of Lawton Public Schools," Deighan said.

He added excellence is routine and that when individuals were honored, the entire district was really being honored.

The top honoree was Cheryl Tate, 2014 LPS Teacher of the Year. Tate is a third-grade teacher at Woodland Hills Elementary, who has taught at LPS for 34 years of her 35-year education career. 

The Lawton Constitution

102 SW 3rd, Lawton, OK 73501
Classifieds: (580) 357-9545
Circulation: (580) 353-6397
Switchboard: (580) 353-0620