You are here

Students presented Superior Cadet Awards at Tuesday’s Junior ROTC awards ceremony at MacArthur High School were, from left, Divine Saunders, Brandon Hobbs, Devon Webb and Teresa Canada.

JROTC cadets earn honors at MacArthur

MacArthur High School honored its Junior ROTC cadets at its annual awards ceremony Tuesday.

Superior Cadet Medals were awarded to first-year cadet Divine Saunders, second-year cadet Brandon Hobbs, third-year cadet Devon Webb and fourth-year cadet Teresa Canada.

The Academic Excellence Awards went to first-year cadet Jason Fritts, second-year cadet Brand Hobbs, third-year cadet Johnny Sanchez and fourth-year cadet Teresa Canada.

The Distinguished Cadet Award for Scholastic Excellence was presented to Brandon Hobbs.

Other awards were: 

Cadet Challenge, Top Five Female: 1.Kia Hayes, 2. Shahna Lee, 3. Jazzlyn Portalatin, 4. Brigida Sanchez, 5. Teresa Canada.

Cadet Challenge, Female Record Holders: shuttle-run, Jazzlyn Portalatin; flex-arm hang, Jazzlyn Portalatin; one-mile run, Kia Hayes; V-sit reach, Teresa Canada; curl-up, Maria Lopez..

Cadet Challenge, Top Five Male: 1. Khaleb Davis, 2. Keegan Smith, 3. Donaven Wolfe, 4. Joshua Dixon, 5. Caleb Peart.

Cadet Challenge, Male Record Holders: shuttle-run, Keegan Smith; curl-up, Divine Saunders; pull-up, Divine Saunders; one-mile run, Khaleb Davis; and V-sit reach, Keegan Smith.

U.S. Army Recruiting Command Award: Kia Hayes and Deonte Williams.

U.S. Navy Military Excellence Award: athletics, Austin Gonzalez; progress, Jacob Watts; merit, Henry Walton; and leadership, Khaleb Davis.

U.S. Marine Corps Excellence Award: music excellence, Destiny Montalvo; academics, Matthew Underwood; and athletics, Andrew Levine.

Oklahoma Army National Guard Award: athletics, Jazzlyn Portalatin; scholastics, Chloe Schell; progress, Caleb Peart; merit, Terrell Dean; and leadership, Aexander Dicks, Derric Brisendine and Donaven Wolfe.

U.S. Air Force Order of the Daedalians Award: Regan Pyles.

Military Order of the Purple Heart Leadership Award: Devon Webb.

Vietnam Veterans of America Chapter 751 Award: Teresa Canada.

Special Forces Association Award: Deonte Williams.

Celebrate Freedom Foundation Award: Destiny Montalvo and Alicia Lopez.

Embry-Riddle Celebrate Freedom Foundation Award: La'kita West.

Association of the U.S. Army (AUSA) Award: La'Kita West and Brigida Sanchez.

Military Officers Association Award: Luis Diaz. 

Military Order of the World Wars Award: Brandon Hobbs.

Col. Guy Rogers Memorial Award: Madeline Hooten.

AMVETS Post 10 Award: Divine Saunders.

Knights of Columbus Award: Hunter Martinez.

Daughters of the American Revolution Award: Zarius Marable.

Sons of the American Revolution Award: Johnny Sanchez.

United States Daughters of 1812 Award: Brigida Sanchez.

Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 5263 Award: bronze medal, Brittany Bohannon; silver medal, Jonathan Mix; and gold medal, Shalika Pickens.

National Sojourners Award: Maria Lopez.

Scottish Rite of Freemasonry Award: Garrison Matlock.

Greater Lawton Rotary Club: Kia Hayes.

The Sgt. Audie Murphy Club Award: Teresa Canada.

Battalion Commander's Medal of Excellence: Austin Gonzalez, Alec Hamilton, Destani Hughes, Traci Mosely, Caleb Peart, Jazzlyn Portalatin, Ryan Ratta and Chenar Thomas.

Outstanding Citizenship Award: Sara Frizzell, Alec Hamilton, Marcus Horn, Destani Hughes, Kaeli Kreiser, Jaylon Lartigue, Xavier McVea, Devon Morris, Clayton Portsher and Gabriel Stephens.

Class Hour Supply Clerks and Administrative Personnel: first hour, Breanna Still and Tajanae Pinkney; second hour, Tara-Jean Wilmore and Clayton Portscher; fourth hour, Jazzlyn Portalatin; fifth hour, Madeline Hooten and Divine Saunders; sixth hour, Chenar Thomas and Marcus Horn.

Class Leadership Medals: first hour, Alex Dicks and Tori-Jean DeLuca; second hour, Tierra Smith and Mackenzy Hancock; fifth hour, Shalika Pickens and Johnny Sanchez; sixth hour, Jonathan Mix and Kirk Davis.

Company Streamer Award: Cadet Challenge: Delta Company.

Best-Drilled Platoon: First Platoon, Delta Company.

Best-Drilled Company: Echo Company.

Best Overall Company: Delta Company.

JROTC letters: Austin Gonzalez, Alec Hamilton, Destani Hughes, Alicia Lopez, Divine Saunders and Chenar Thomas.

JROTC bars: Brittany Bohannon, Teresa Canada, Luis Diaz, Kia Hayes, Brandon Hobbs, Garrison Matlock, Brigida Sanchez, Johnny Sanchez, Devon Webb and Deonte Williams.

Highlander Battalion JROTC Leadership Award: Luis Diaz.

Honorary Highlander Battalion JROTC Cadet Captain: Vivianna Zavala.

Most Valuable Cadet: Teresa Canada.

The Lawton Constitution

102 SW 3rd, Lawton, OK 73501
Classifieds: (580) 357-9545
Circulation: (580) 353-6397
Switchboard: (580) 353-0620