You are here

Cameron University President John McArthur, center, presents the 2013-2014 University of Choice awards to, from left, Sarah Collins, Marty Sherman, Jenel Cavazos, Megan Canfield and Theresa Billiot.

Five at Cameron University named to receive Choice Awards

Five members of the Cameron University faculty and staff are recipients of Choice Awards. 

Theresa Billiot, Megan Canfield, Jenel Cavazos, Sarah Collins and Marty Sherman each received a plaque recognizing his or her achievement and a $1,000 stipend.

• The University of Choice Award recognizes outstanding contributions toward making Cameron the "University of Choice" by providing students a top-quality education. Jenel Cavazos, assistant professor, Department of Psychology, and Sarah Collins, instructor, Department of Communications and director of Cameron speech and debate, are the 2013-2014 recipients. Cavazos' nomination was based in part on work in developing new resources and tools for a general psychology class that serves more than 500 students each semester, as well as development of a test to assess the General Education Ethics Student Learning Outcome now used in all general psychology classes. Her inclusion of students in research efforts also was cited.

Collins' nomination referred to her as a "superstar," noting she has "transformed the Department of Communication's historic forensics program.

"Sarah effectively juggles a full-time teaching schedule while coaching a national award-winning forensics team. She recruits from all over the U.S. and engages both her in-class students and team members in critical, research-driven speech and debate activities. Her ability as a top-notch forensics coach brings the scholarship students to campus and her abilities as a classroom teacher keep them here."

The Lawton Constitution

102 SW 3rd, Lawton, OK 73501
Classifieds: (580) 357-9545
Circulation: (580) 353-6397
Switchboard: (580) 353-0620