You are here

Area students to receive Lawton Community Foundation scholarships

Thirteen Lawton area high school seniors were awarded a total of $23,500 in scholarships and were recognized at the Lawton Community Foundation's annual scholarship breakfast Monday at Cameron University.

The Lawton Community Foundation awarded 10 one-time scholarships in the amount of $1,500 each and the Lawton Noon Lions Club presented one award of $1,500 per year for four years. Recipients of these awards are selected by the Lawton Community Foundation's scholarship committee with assistance of high school guidance counselors and a committee at each of the high schools. The 2014 recipients are:

The 2014 Lawton Community Foundation Scholarship recipients by high schools are: Altus High School, Logan Ybarra; Cache High School, Azalia Ross; Duncan High School, Chelsea Harwell; Eisenhower High School, Kendric Daniels; Elgin High School, Kindle Delcamp; Frederick High School, Brittany Rabenstein; Lawton High School, Samantha Ciaramitaro and Oluwasegun Emenogu; and MacArthur High School, Mitchell Fritts and Sarah Pierce.

The Frank Curran Memorial/Lawton Noon Lions Club Scholarship Recipient was Brittney Jones, MacArthur High School.

Additionally, awards were presented from the Benny McReynolds Memorial Scholarship and the Lamont N. Wilson ROTC Scholarship, both of which are independent scholarship endowment funds. 

The Lawton Constitution

102 SW 3rd, Lawton, OK 73501
Classifieds: (580) 357-9545
Circulation: (580) 353-6397
Switchboard: (580) 353-0620