You are here

Ancient. Massive. Wild. - The Bison Exhibit

Ancient. Massive. Wild. - The Bison Exhibit

Few animals conjure the power and symbolic presence of the North American
bison. Whether painted on a tipi or an artist’s canvas, minted on a nickel,
or seen grazing in Yellowstone National Park, the image of the bison stirs in
us deep loyalties to the North American landscape. Wild and fundamental, the
bison is a familiar part of our shared heritage. This exhibition explores the
meaning and significance of this iconic creature from the Plains Indian
culture of the 1800s through the commercial and national symbol of the
present. The Bison Exhibit charts the dramatic changes that occurred to the
creature and its habitat, and to the people who depended upon it for their
daily existence. The exhibition also illuminates the human response that
eventually led to the bison’s preservation as a species and a symbol in the
20th century.

Ends May 12, 2019

Date: 
Repeats every week until Mon May 06 2019 .
Friday, February 8, 2019 - 10:00am
Friday, February 15, 2019 - 10:00am
Friday, February 22, 2019 - 10:00am
Friday, March 1, 2019 - 10:00am
Friday, March 8, 2019 - 10:00am
Friday, March 15, 2019 - 10:00am
Friday, March 22, 2019 - 10:00am
Friday, March 29, 2019 - 10:00am
Friday, April 5, 2019 - 10:00am
Friday, April 12, 2019 - 10:00am
Friday, April 19, 2019 - 10:00am
Friday, April 26, 2019 - 10:00am
Friday, May 3, 2019 - 10:00am
Location: 

National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum

The Lawton Constitution

102 SW 3rd, Lawton, OK 73501
Classifieds: (580) 357-9545
Circulation: (580) 353-6397
Switchboard: (580) 353-0620