You are here

New singles will debut at concert

When the trio of Forever in Your Mind comes to Fort Sill Sunday, it'll be debuting two new singles that have never been performed live while headlining Fort Sill's Month of the Military Child concert.

The pop boy band  Emery Kelly, Rick Garcia and Liam Attridge  first formed in 2013 during season three of "The X-Factor." Kelly, who was 15 at the time, auditioned as a solo artist, and Garcia, then 14, auditioned with a group. Both Kelly and Garcia's group were eliminated during the boot camp round, but judge Simon Cowell asked Kelly, Garcia and Jon Klaasen, another member of Garcia's group, to stay on and form the group Forever in Your Mind. The group was the last contestants cut before the final 16. In June 2014, Klaasen left the band and was replaced by Attridge, Kelly's cousin.

"I think we've all been growing together pretty great," Kelly said. "We started at a point in our lives where we were very young and we were into soft rock and loving the whole band vibe. As time went on, we've progressed into more of what music is going into nowadays with EDM hints with R&B and soul and turning into our own."

New music
Today, the band has one EP under their belt titled "FIYM," which released July 1, 2016, featuring the four tracks "Hurricane," "Enough About Me," "Compass" and "Whistle." At the concert on Sunday, the band will debut two new singles, "Smooth" and "Missing." Both tracks have never been performed live before and will not drop to the public until April 28.

"The track 'Smooth' is upbeat. It's dark. It's mysterious. It's really cool. It's about when you think you're super cool and then you find a girl that's even cooler than you," Kelly said. "But then the next song, 'Missing,' is about how you're so lost you miss who you were and you miss yourself and you also miss the person that was helping you become yourself. So there's a lot of twists and turns and it's really, really cool. You guys are going to like it."

The two new tracks are different sounds compared to the EP and former singles, like "Sweet Little Something." According to Attridge, the band's music has changed with age.

"I think as we got older we wanted to experiment into more topics that more people could relate to, that mean more to us and are closer to us," Attridge said. "It's more of where we are at this point than where we were last year. I think that's the biggest change. It's in a different tone, and it reflects us maturing, us growing up and having things in our lives we have to worry about. I still think it's young and fun, but it's how we've grown up and matured."

Garcia said when the band returned to the studio after the release of their EP, the members weren't sure where they were headed.

"We were just in the studio a ton and trying to experiment with what we could and could not do," Garcia said. "Obviously, I think it's great to change up what you usually do and it's always good to try something new, and I'm really, really excited for everyone to hear what we have. I think it's totally relatable, too."

The band is influenced by current musicians like Ed Sheeran, John Mayer, One Direction (which was also formed by Cowell), Five Seconds of Summer, Justin Bieber, Jon Bellion, The Weeknd, and some of the greats like Michael Jackson and the Eagles. The band doesn't currently have any album in sight, but there is hope.

"We actually just had our first studio session back in writing new songs, so we're working on some stuff," Attridge said. "So depending how that goes on with the writing, we're going to figure out the next steps."

The Lawton Constitution

102 SW 3rd, Lawton, OK
Classifieds: (580) 357-9545
Circulation: (580) 353-6397
Switchboard: (580) 353-0620